Author Topic: Cold weather friction fire  (Read 7795 times)

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
Cold weather friction fire
« on: February 08, 2009, 12:30:14 am »
I've been messing with the hand drill for a little while now.  I'm by no means an expert.  I thought I would challenge myself the other night and get a fire going with it.  I thought since it was only 9 degrees it would be really tough.  To my suprise it was actually some of the easiest coals I have ever gotten.  Which leads me to believe that it has much less to do with air temperature as it does with relative humidity.  Since the RH is so low when it is that cold.  This is probably pretty obvious to some but I'm kinda slow. ;D 
Traverse City, MI

Offline Boofus

Re: Cold weather friction fire
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 11:43:07 am »
that's wonderful information!!! i always thought it would be harder to get a friction fire going in COLD temperatures, i would think that the cold would prevent a coal from "glowing" Thanks! i've never tried a hand drill.... yet i have made fire from a bowdrill once. i think it took me about 3 hours, my right arm was sore for about a week too!  ;D

Offline Kegan

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2009, 04:47:59 pm »
Very cool. I've tried it a number of times in the summer when it was wet/raining out, and even when the kit was dry or I was under an awnign of sort it was harder. That would explain it :)!

Offline billy

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2009, 10:28:08 pm »
Rick,

You are dead on.  HAnd drill fires are MUCH easier when the humidity is low.  when I lived in Oregon I remember I got an ember with my hand drill in about 12 seconds.  It was easy!  But I was living in the high desert.  When I went up into the mountains and tried it there, the humidity was much higher and I could barely get it to smoke and never got an ember.  When it's humid, I go with the bow drill. 
Marietta, Georgia

Offline ricktrojanowski