Author Topic: Help with ID on some points  (Read 2485 times)

Offline Newbow

Help with ID on some points
« on: October 06, 2009, 05:37:13 pm »
My brother-in-law gave me a small box of rubble he'd picked up on creek banks over the past 30 or 40 years in NW Arkansas; Washington & Benton counties.  I sorted through it and attempted to ID the stuff that wasn't just flakes using Overstreet's Indian Arrowheads, 7th edition, but I have no experience at this and nothing to compare to so I am hoping you guys will chip in with your own opinions.  I forgot to include a ruler, but experiencethe middle scraper in 2 1/2" long and 1" wide (at the top).  I didn't even guess at the scrapers' ID, but they seem to be the same material as the Bulverde? group and are worked on only one side.  All the points were incomplete.  I have some tips in the box as well as bases but thought the bases would be more diagnostic.  I can provide a larger image of any part if someone wants it.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Hardawaypoints

Re: Help with ID on some points
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 08:26:14 am »
We have different names for some similar points styles found here in N.C.. The three on the bottom right would be called Big Sandy and the upper right would be called Morrow Mountain.
Here's a link to point types and their names for this region.   http://www.coe-foundation.org/content/cspp_home.html

I don't know a thing about your part of the Country.  Hope this helps.

Jim
Luck counts, good or bad.

Offline Newbow

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 02:34:33 pm »