Author Topic: endless loop strings vs. flemish twist  (Read 16151 times)

Offline sulphur

endless loop strings vs. flemish twist
« on: October 09, 2009, 11:01:45 pm »
i was re-reading tbbII and  the section on bow strings really got my eye this time.  i've been making flemish loop strings from day one and was wondering if there is any advantage to the endless loop strings.  the seem easy to make but is it superior to the flemish at all???

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: endless loop strings vs. flemish twist
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 11:09:05 pm »
I used to make endless loop strings and dreaded every moment. I would serve the loop and bring the serving down the "collar" of the string. Generally, they were an unsightly mess. I have finally learned to make Flemish strings and can make one in half the time, too. But, I'm not answering your question. I would suppose that they are equal in quality. The DVD "Doing the Twist" makes that assertion, too.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 11:23:25 pm »
I used to make endless loop strings and dreaded every moment. I would serve the loop and bring the serving down the "collar" of the string. Generally, they were an unsightly mess. I have finally learned to make Flemish strings and can make one in half the time, too. But, I'm not answering your question. I would suppose that they are equal in quality. The DVD "Doing the Twist" makes that assertion, too.

Hey Don....can Ya Burn Me a Copy............ ;D
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY
2024...We Will Overcome

Offline Pat B

• Administrator