Author Topic: Knapping at work.  (Read 3070 times)

Offline StevenT

Knapping at work.
« on: October 14, 2009, 05:12:44 pm »
As a thought from another post, I am curious who many of you knap at work? I took a small 5 inch wood dowel and put a 3/4" copper cap on one end to use as a bopper with a 3/8" copper bit in the other end for flaking. I also have a small piece of grindstone and a small leather hand pad. Things get slow, I put the trash can between my feet and make some gravel.  Just curious if other are this eat up with it.

chance

Re: Knapping at work.
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 05:58:06 pm »
I have a two hour break in between two of my classes at school (I'm a new full time student 25 years after high school) and I've been known to sit on the tailgate and mangle a few rocks, or drop off the hill and go looking for some during that time.
That'll sure take your mind off school for a while!

Offline sailordad

« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 07:06:40 pm »
nope not me

i aint got the time for such amenities when i am at work
when i am there the more i do the more i make (auto tech)
as they say time is money.if i can do 60 hrs flat rate work in a 40 hr work week.
i take home a 60 hr pay check
so i keep my playtime for at home after work
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline nugget

• I see, I hunt, I shoot, I eat
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 08:06:01 pm »
Since I only work 1 day a week and I am in class the rest of the week I do most of my knapping at the house in between studying and goofing off ;D. I work in the health care field, so I usually do not have time to do much of anything except wok while I am at work.
TJ
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....WOW WHAT A RIDE!!

Offline mullet