Author Topic: Am I doin' It the hard way?  (Read 4722 times)

Offline ShinneryOak

Am I doin' It the hard way?
« on: October 23, 2009, 12:16:29 pm »
What's the best way to take sapwood off seasoned osage? I rediscovered a piece with bark still on in my attic and decided to try it. I ended up using a drawknife. I'm in reasonably good shape but it took wailing away at it for over an hour to get sapwood off one 3 ft. billet. Ended up sweating with no shirt at 40 degrees. I'm still learning on self bows. Read TBB1, etc. several times. If this is usual, fine. Maybe the drawknife is the wrong type. I have one on order, straight bladed. The one I have is curved like a smile when holding it. After all that I think the rings are too thin, about 1/8 in. What do you think is minimum ring width? TBB says about  3/16.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Am I doin' It the hard way?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 12:26:27 pm »
For years and many many staves that is the way I went about removing the bark and sapwood. Now I remove most of it with a bandsaw then clean up down to the back ring with a draw knife.
  If the 1/8" ring is clean all the way down the length of the bow, it is plenty thick enough for a bow back.  I usually go down to the first clean ring.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 12:39:20 pm »
Drawknife works great if it's sharp and you're cutting with the bevel down. It shouldn't take an hour to get the sapwood off a 3' billet. An like Pat siad, 1/8" rings are plenty thick enough. What's the earlywood/latewood ratio look like?
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline Dano

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 12:48:09 pm »