Author Topic: Lightest Poundage with selfbows?  (Read 7804 times)

Offline Bentstick81

Lightest Poundage with selfbows?
« on: November 17, 2009, 09:15:57 pm »
  I have a 46# @28' hickory boardbow that i'm deer hunting with. I shoot a more or less, floating type anchor. So i know that sometimes i may not get the full 46# while hunting. The minimum weight for my state is 40#. Just wanted to hear what the lightest weight self (board) bow everyone has taken deer with? This is my first year deer hunting with a bow i made for myself. I've been using recurves for approx. 13 years. Thanks.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: Lightest Poundage with selfbows?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 05:39:52 am »
I have taken them with a 45@26 but I don't always get to full draw so I am sure it was less,
didn't get a pass through but killed the deer just the same. :)
      Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Bentstick81

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 08:33:47 am »
 Thanks pappy. Looks like we are the only ones who use lighter poundage bows.  ;D I pretty much have to due to my tendonitis in both elbows. That stuuf is no fun at all. >:(

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 09:14:29 am »
Well I haven't used anything lighter than 48# but I got a pass through with that bow.  I wouldn't worry about it. It's all about shot placement. It doesn't take much to put a sharp arrow into a deers rib cage.
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Offline Kegan

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2009, 01:26:47 pm »
You're not the only one shooting lighter weights. Quite the contrary. Heavy weight hunting bow shooters are the freaks ;D

Offline stringstretcher

• Traditionalarcherycommunitysite.com
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2009, 02:56:58 pm »