Author Topic: new knives!!!  (Read 3492 times)

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
new knives!!!
« on: November 30, 2009, 11:24:19 am »
Spent my thanksgiving weekend finishing up two knives, the one on the right is the one for the K.I.T.H. and the one on the left is going to my boss for Christmas.  This is my first time attempting to hollow-grind a blade too, I just bought a grinder so I had to test it out.  These blades heat up quickly, I could only make like 3 or 4 passes on the grinder and then have to douse it in water to keep it from heating up and losing the original temper in the metal.  Is that normal?   Hope you like them, I need some more practice on making sheaths, They arent pretty but they are very durable and functional.  I also was greatly influenced on the scales by looking at some of GregB's knives... I kinda stole his grain pattern idea on the osage one.  Thanks for looking!!! !  :)    -josh

« Last Edit: November 30, 2009, 11:47:35 am by Josh »
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: new knives!!!
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 11:53:39 am »
Very nice looking knives. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 12:18:35 pm »