Author Topic: 4th BBI- probably my best yet  (Read 6257 times)

Offline Gordon

Re: 4th BBI- problably my best yet
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2010, 12:18:56 pm »
Beautiful work. You may, however, want to keep an eye out on those tips. It looks like you cut across the grain and I've seen tips like that fail by coming apart at a ring.
Gordon

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2010, 03:38:15 pm »
                                           Always got to be a Party Pooper in the Bunch............. ;)
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY
2024...We Will Overcome

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2010, 04:47:34 pm »
Super job on this one. Bookmarked under January laminates for BOM if you don't mind.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Gordon

« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2010, 05:19:14 pm »
Always got to be a Party Pooper in the Bunch

I'm not trying to rain on anyone's parade EL. But I've seen 3 tip failures in the last 2 months due to improperly aligned grain. Here's a picture of a tip that I fixed yesterday for a buddy. It was cut across the grain just like the one pictured on this bow. The reason I even said anything is because these kind of failures can take the whole bow with them. Which would be a real shame in this case because it is an excellent bow in all other respects. If it were me, I would replace the tips with ones in which the grain ran lengthwise and is edge oriented. Sure, it may be not fail the way it is, but why take the chance with such a nice piece of work.

« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 05:22:15 pm by Gordon »
Gordon

Rich Saffold