Author Topic: Walnut: sapwood or heartwood?  (Read 5025 times)

Offline dogwood3

Walnut: sapwood or heartwood?
« on: March 16, 2010, 11:29:52 pm »
I cut a nice walnut log that should have several good staves in it.  I've never tried walnut before, but I know some have considered it a good bow wood.  I read somewhere on this sight that the sapwood it preferable to the heartwood.  I would like to know some opinions on the use of this wood and how to get one of the staves into action quickly.

Dogwood

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Walnut: sapwood or heartwood?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 11:46:55 pm »
The only black walnut selfbows I've made I used the sapwood under the bark as the back. I have used BW heartwood in backed bows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2010, 12:22:37 am »
    I know alot of people have bad reactions to wallnut dust.Go slow untill you find out about yourself.
   When I get down to sanding osage makes my eyes puffy.
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline Ryan_Gill_HuntPrimitive

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2010, 11:43:32 am »
I much prefer the heartwood.  a walnut bow to me should be that beautiful dark wood, if i was goin to use the the white sap wood then i would probably choose a better performing wood.  so i guess for me a walnut bow is more of a thing of beauty that a big performer.  but also the few sapwood staves i worked all ended up breaking, but i made a short little recurve from the heartwood and its still shooting good..- Ryan
Formerly "twistedlimbs"
Gill's Primitive Archery and HuntPrimitive

Offline yazoo

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2010, 01:15:53 pm »