Author Topic: Removing the scales from a rattlesnake skin backing  (Read 2724 times)

Offline ohiocountryboy

Removing the scales from a rattlesnake skin backing
« on: April 28, 2013, 02:27:56 am »
I'm finishing up this bow that I backed with rattlesnake skin over sinew. Man it looks incredible  I especially like the look of the scales on there this is my first time working with snakeskin is there anything I can do to it to be able to keep the scales on there?
« Last Edit: April 28, 2013, 02:36:53 am by ohiocountryboy »

Offline JonW

Re: Removing the scales from a rattlesnake skin backing
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2013, 02:31:15 am »
several coats of spray poly has worked for me. Just don't rub "against" the scales

Offline Granite Mtn

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2013, 02:55:03 am »
You have to remove the scale the bow will still look cool!  I use a giant gum rubber block used to clean sanding belts always working with the scales think head to tail make sure to get them all off or they will pop loose under your finish and become cloudy!  I put about four or five coats of minwax quick dry poly wiped on with a rag in thin coats and sanded very carefully between the coats with very fine sand paper like 400 and 600.  You want to harden up the skin and sand the roughness out not sand through the skin.  Do not build up to much finish or it will crack over time.  A well finished snakeskin backed bow won't crack!  It is not easy but worth the extra effort.  I then spray a coat of gloss thin over entire bow sign it then one coat of satin all minwax.  I have tried try oil spar varnish catalized varnish epoxy thinned Masey finish and this method is the best I have found in twenty years!

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 09:03:49 am »