Author Topic: Minimum width flatbow  (Read 6008 times)

Offline northvtarcher

Minimum width flatbow
« on: July 29, 2010, 01:39:00 am »
Hey everybody. I'm pretty new at bow making and was hoping to get some insight.  If you wanted to make a D style flatbow around say 45#@26 around 68" how narrow could your limbs be?

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
Re: Minimum width flatbow
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 01:49:42 am »
Welcome to PA!!!  :) It really all depends on the kind of wood you are using.  I have a hickory backed ipe laminate bow I built last year that is 7/8ths of an inch wide at it's widest point, and i also have a red oak board bow I built that is around 2 inches wide at its widest point.  Maybe someone who makes more d bows will chime in with a better answer.  :)  Good luck to ya, can't wait to see one of your bows!  :)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 02:01:37 am by Josh »
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline northvtarcher

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 02:07:30 am »
What I have right now are some white ash staves about 72" long that I cut from a friends property about 2 years ago. They have been seasoning in my shed and I believe that they are plenty dry to turn into bows. At least I'm hopeful they will become bows. I've been doing alot of studying about bow design and from what I gather so far it's good to start with a D shaped bow.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2010, 04:00:11 am »
I'd say you have a good amout of leeway Ash will make a longbow (at a pinch) which is pretty narrow, but I'd say go for your flatbow 3 fingers wide at the widest, narrowing down to as thin as you dare like ;D.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2010, 06:30:44 am »