Author Topic: First New Bow Build  (Read 4996 times)

Offline Ronbow

Re: First New Bow Build
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2010, 01:43:55 pm »
Thanks Pappy and thanks George, getting an ok from you two, you do know this, is like the ultimate in my book. I don't know as much about you as I will but I can tell from the respect you are given by the others, that you earned it. If I knew nothing else, that would be enough.

I hope to hang around long enough to pick you two guys' brain, share a cup of coffee, and maybe put a rasp on the same piece of wood. Now that sounds like Bowyer Heaven.

Thanks a lot

Ron

Offline youngbowyer33

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2010, 05:20:28 pm »
I'm no pro, that tiller is better than any of mine.
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us"

Offline acker

« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2010, 06:13:29 pm »
Very well done for the first one  :)
Welcome to the land of bow building , I bet that it won't be your last bow in this year  ::) ;D

acker

Offline chasing crow

« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2010, 06:23:34 pm »
Very pretty bow and weight seems to have worked out well.  Feels good doesn't it!  Is that backing drywall tape?
We know more than we think we do. Pass your knowledge on to our youth

Offline Ronbow

« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2010, 08:07:16 pm »
Thanks all, and yes, it is drywall tape backing. Although it was part of the instructions for the build, I almost scraped the plan because of the looks but decided that, hey, it is the first bow and so went pretty much by the instructions. I did not paint it (backing) and it turned out looking better (in my eyes anyway). I am starting my next bow now and would like to use flax for backing but am unsure how to obtain it and what exactly is needed. Any advise on flax would be greatly appreciated, like is there any chain store or common place it might be purchased, and what do I ask for, (is there different types / lengths required)?