Author Topic: Sheds for snakeskin backing?  (Read 4435 times)

Offline Stingray45

Sheds for snakeskin backing?
« on: November 01, 2010, 01:18:25 pm »
I don't know if anyone has asked this on here before or if its already been answered, but can you use a snakes shed for backing? Will it show up well? Im sure not as well skinning the snake and using that but I was just wondering. My buddy has some kind of python for a pet so I didn't know if I could get him to give me a shed and that would work for a backing, or if it wouldnt show up very well and then not be worth the effort. Thanks.
Is there anything better than wandering the earth with a stick and string in your hand?

Offline gstoneberg

Re: Sheds for snakeskin backing?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 02:48:58 pm »
I'm no biology expert, but there appears to be 2 layers to a snake's skin.  The outer layer has the scales on it and the inner layer has the color/pattern.  There might be more layers, but this is what I've observed. I had a bow have the outer layer fail for some reason.  The color was still there, but the texture was not.  From a distance it looked fine...up close, not so much. :(  I'm afraid a shed skin would be just that outer layer and be nearly colorless. Whatever was under the skin would likely show through.  With a large python where the skin would be thicker, maybe it'd be thick enough to add the weather protection I always use them for when sinew backing.  Not sure though.  Somebody with some real experience will probably come along and then we'll know.
St Paul, TX

Offline Stickhead

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 03:16:08 pm »
I've put some black racer sheds on a couple of bows for fun.  It gives it an interesting look.  The sheds are translucent, but the scales show up.  The scales tend to fall off though.  Maybe a heavy sealant would keep them in better.

Here's a snakey Osage I made with shed backing.

BTW, sheds are nice for dressing up arrows!