Author Topic: low brace tiller, first bow  (Read 2206 times)

Offline kmshfa

low brace tiller, first bow
« on: December 06, 2010, 10:57:52 pm »
Here is my twisted first attempt at a bow.  It is a hackberry that I cut.  About 2" at the widest and 6' tip to tip.  A lot of the twist leaves as I draw the bow in my tiller stick.  I worked the high side down a bit.  Because this is my first attempt I would like a bit of input on tiller or anything else you see.  Thanks. 
As I said before, I split the stave too close to the base of the tree.  The tree was pretty much square there...when I split it there was a twist.  I decided to build anyway.  It feels good as long as I have the correct side up when I draw.  The other way tends to make the bow torque in my hand.
Thanks for your input.  I have learned a lot from this site. 

Offline aero86

Re: low brace tiller, first bow
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 11:36:31 pm »
well, to me, looks like the right limb is doing more bending.  also, get the tips of the bow working more, if thats the style your going for.
profsaffel  "clogs like the devil" I always figured Lucifer to be more of a disco kind of guy.

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 12:37:00 am »
I personally would leave the tips for now and get the mid-limbs working a bit more.  I would stay away from that slight hinge around 5 or 6 inches out from the fade on the right limb.  And once you get the limbs bending similar profiles, take some scrapes off the entire length of the left limb to get it to catch up to the right.  I don't take much meat off the tips until the bow is nearly complete, and leave the last 8 inches or so stiff so that you don't end up with a whip tillered bow.

There are many others on here much more qualified to give you advice, but that's mine.   ;D

Offline JonW

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 12:57:33 am »