Author Topic: Still can't make a bowstring  (Read 6779 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Still can't make a bowstring
« on: May 26, 2007, 02:13:25 pm »
Each time I follow the directions, I try to make the loop small.  It still tends to unwinde and then opens up at the "throat" which is sloppy looking and tends to slip off the nocks. 
Any ideas what I am doing wrong. 
I am using lots of wax.

[attachment deleted by admin]
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Badger

Re: Still can't make a bowstring
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2007, 02:37:15 pm »
Don, you need to twist the entire string after it is finished counter clock wise about 30 or 40 twists, maybe try making the string longer so you have more room to twist it. If you have trouble I can walk you through one on the telephone, from then on it will be a breeze. Steve

Minuteman

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2007, 02:51:28 pm »
 Your pic looks like the reverse twist has come out of your loop.
 If its a double loop flemish string, the second loop will unravel the first one if you aren't careful. The way I keep it from unravelling is by adding at least as many twists after the loop is complete as it took to make it plus a few more for good measure. If it took 25 twists to make the first loop I make 25 more after the loop is completed and the tails are incorporated into the body of the string. That way when you make the loop on the other end it has some twists to unravel before it gets to the loop twists.
 I used to reverse twist my whole string til I figgered out I didn't need to. A coupla twists along its length is all thats needed on a flemish string. Course you can add more to adjust brace height . 
 Clear as mud?

SimonUK

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2007, 07:45:36 pm »
You could also make the twists closer together in the loop and for a few cm below it. Add a serving if all else fails.

duffontap

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2007, 08:00:56 pm »
Hey Don,