Author Topic: Wood dowel shafts  (Read 5325 times)

Offline Rick Wallace

Wood dowel shafts
« on: March 11, 2011, 10:04:09 pm »
Can you straiten dowels with heat the same as cane shafts?? I bought a box of 100  5/16 hardwood dowels and they are crooked as a politician,,,I hate to waste them as the shipping was more than the dowels. BTW Im a beginner at arrow making   ???
U.S.ARMY '86-'91  East Milton Fl.   Dont take yourself to seriously,,No one else does

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Wood dowel shafts
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 10:46:55 pm »
First order of business is to go thru every shaft and cull out those that have grain run-outs.  You can heat straighten the bendiest corkscrew shaft a little at a time until it spins nice and true, but ya can't fix grain run-outs!  Them's just tomato stakes.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Rick Wallace

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 11:16:27 pm »
I think I understand grain runout,does someone have a pic so im sure? I sure dont want a piece of thru my hand,,,,,,,,
U.S.ARMY '86-'91  East Milton Fl.   Dont take yourself to seriously,,No one else does

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2011, 11:18:18 pm »
If they are birch, you can straighten some without heat.  But yes, you can use heat just like they were natural shoots.  And like JW said, get rid of the ones with bad grain.

You might get 1 out of 5 that are OK for 28"-30" arrows.  Maybe 1 out of 10 will be perfect for that length.  Since I make short arrows, and also arrows with foreshafts, my percentage is higher.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.
How to Cook It?  200° for 24hrs then 275° to 500° for 4hrs (depending on type), Cool for 12hr

Offline HickoryBill