Author Topic: Different types of TiteBond Glues  (Read 5115 times)

Offline BowJunkie

Different types of TiteBond Glues
« on: May 20, 2011, 12:02:11 pm »
What is the difference between TiteBond, TiteBond II, and TiteBond III ????
I started out making bows with Titebond and somewhere along the line ended up using Titebond III
Now I just stick to TBIII. Any suggestions?
Johnny
in Texas

Offline aaron

Re: Different types of TiteBond Glues
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 12:17:39 pm »
i think it's basically more warerproof as you go up in #'s. also different chemistry...
Original Titebond...Aliphatic Resin. Never used it but it must be like Elmers.
Titebond II...Crosslinked polyvinyl acetate. Water resistant. I've had some experiences that bear that out. lower shelf life than III
Titebond III...Polymer. WaterPROOF. You can believe it.

Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 01:22:40 pm »
http://www.bowyersedge.com/glue.html   14th or 15th paragraph down Dean says titebond has a stronger bond than II but II is more water resistant.  actually the rest of the article is good info for most other glues. the article was written before titebond III so no info on that. hope this helps.
"He that but looketh on a plate of ham and eggs to lust after it hath already committed breakfast with it in his heart"  C.S. Lewis

Offline sadiejane

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 01:52:12 pm »
good article eric
thanks for posting
wild women don't get the blues

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2011, 02:32:02 pm »
More than welcome, his site is pretty cool. A very well rounded fountain of knowledge.
"He that but looketh on a plate of ham and eggs to lust after it hath already committed breakfast with it in his heart"  C.S. Lewis

Offline PeteC

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2011, 05:40:37 pm »