Author Topic: New to Primitive bow making  (Read 2557 times)

PrimitiveVsns

New to Primitive bow making
« on: June 03, 2011, 02:15:58 am »
From Pa here and looking to make my first primitive bow. Don't have Osage here so my choices seem limited. I decided to use Maple but not sure if it matters which kind and if it needs backed if I follow the growth ring. I did have a practice piece to see if I could shave down to the growth ring, at one point it became difficult to tell the difference between early and late wood. I wasn't sure if I was shaving into the late wood or not. Any tips would help out a lot and be appreciated. Thanks

Offline Weylin

Re: New to Primitive bow making
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 03:06:38 am »
Welcome! You'll get more advice than you can handle on here. I'm pretty new to so I wont waste your time with my advice, I'm sure someone more experienced will chime in here shortly. Are you working with a maple stave or a board?

TurtleCreek

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2011, 07:15:31 am »
  if you are able to cut a white ash or hickory this time of year, establishing a single growth ring for the back is super easy-  Just peel off the bark and voila, the exposed wood will be your back of your bow and it's already a single growth ring.  This time of year is perfect to do this as the bark will just peel right off taking the cambium with it and leaving you with a pristine back. I love working with white woods because of this.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2011, 07:18:17 am »
Welcome and what Turtlecreek said on the white wood. Good luck and keep us updated.
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

blackhawk

« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2011, 10:50:49 am »
Welcome ...do you know the path your about to take with making bows  >:D. Read thru the current thread" Justin an observation"