Author Topic: new hard maple bow  (Read 6251 times)

Offline Josh B

new hard maple bow
« on: June 04, 2011, 09:12:10 pm »
This is my first attempt to post a bow.  I know the pictures suck, but I'm on the road.  Pretty limited on photography equipment.  Any how. This is a piece of hard maple I picked up in Castanea, PA while picking up a load.  It's 60" ntn, 60 lbs. @ 26". I tillered it to shoot right or left handed. The idea being to just flip it over and change hands.  Can't say which way it favors if at all.  Painted it with sharpies and Tru-oiled it. Handle wrap is the top of an old boot.  The floppy rest is the boot strap from the boot as well. Made do with what I had.  It has 3 inches of string follow just after being unstrung.  Then settles back to 1 1/2" of set after a couple hours.  Thanks for looking.   Josh

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: new hard maple bow
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2011, 10:53:34 pm »
Nice design work and from what I can see the tiller looks good as well. Well done!
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline half eye

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2011, 11:00:16 pm »
Great looking bow from what I can see, hard maple makes a real snappy shooter.
rich

Offline johnston

« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2011, 11:28:59 pm »
With Sharpies? Very nice.

This is fun ain't it ?

Lane

Offline ErictheViking

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 12:52:55 am »
looking good from what I can see.  Tiller does look good, and quite a crazy sharpie pattern(I like it). Also fine job at using what you have. keep 'em coming.
"He that but looketh on a plate of ham and eggs to lust after it hath already committed breakfast with it in his heart"  C.S. Lewis

Offline Josh B

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2011, 01:36:26 am »