Author Topic: ERC Takedown - (new tiller)  (Read 12574 times)

duffontap

Re: ERC Takedown
« Reply #15 on: July 17, 2007, 04:14:44 pm »
Beautiful bow.  Great idea with the skins.  I have one of those sleeves that I've been avoiding for a couple years now.  Maybe it's time to get after that.

J. D.

Offline Stickhead

• Administrator
Re: ERC Takedown
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2007, 06:39:24 pm »
After looking at the pics I posted and reading advice from y'all, I decided to retiller the bottom limb just a tad.  I got it bending a little nicer, and I think I'm done this time.  (At least for the moment.)  It still has decent draw weight (around 53# at 26"), so I'm happy.  It's got around 1 1/2" of set, which I can live with.  I didn't want to tempt the ERC gods by doing any heat treatment or bending.

Saw Filer - my experience with ERC jives with what I've read.  Namely, that sapwood is better in tension, but takes more set.  And the heartwood is good in compression, but brittle.

Here are a couple of new tiller pics: 

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 20, 2007, 06:42:11 pm by Stickhead »

Offline venisonburger

Re: ERC Takedown - (new tiller)
« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2007, 07:37:40 pm »
I like it alot, attractive, functional, all in one takedown package.
VB

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2007, 10:22:15 pm »
The tiller looks much nicer.  That is truly a beautiful bow. Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline FlintWalker

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2007, 10:23:49 am »