Author Topic: What Trees Are These?  (Read 2417 times)

Offline Dictionary

What Trees Are These?
« on: January 22, 2012, 12:50:23 pm »
I'm awful at identification. I got a couple of books from the library that kinda help me. But hopefully the board can help. I'm located in northeast GA 25 miles from Atlanta. I don't have great access to wooded areas i can simply walk out back to. I have to ride my bike about 2 miles to these woods and some near the backend of my neighborhood. Both hold what i think are maples,large oaks, poplars,pines, willows and others common ones. I haven't been able to identify ashes, hickories, or elms. Then again i'm not too good at identifying. Pics aren't that great but i hope some can see it.

Tree #1 i can't even guess this one.

Tree #2 I'm guessing this is sycamore. but i am unsure. It can be really knotty. Pretty soft. UnderBark is green when it begins to peel. Real bark is brownish,green, greyish,....

Last One #3 I'm guessing is a birch. Not sure though. I thought it was paper birch but i read it doesn't really grow in the south here in GA much unless planted as an ornamental. I'm guessing this is river birch...idk.

And some pics of the woods i am in. Quite swampy after it rains. its been cut through like that by some forest agency or something i dont know why. Its off to the side of a road. I don't have access to true undisturbed wooded areas but i use what i can.

Your help would be appreciated. Thanks.
"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline toomanyknots

Re: What Trees Are These?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 01:07:32 pm »
Your definitely right about the sycamore. Thats all I know for sure though.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."