Author Topic: Tiller Profiles  (Read 8261 times)

Offline Mike_A

• Mike Ailstock Gatesville, TX
Tiller Profiles
« on: August 08, 2007, 11:07:50 am »
I'm still pretty new at all this so if anyone could post pics of different tiller profiles along with their strengths and weaknesses I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks Mike.
Proud member of PETA ( People for the Eating of Tasty Animals)

makete

Re: Tiller Profiles
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 09:30:01 pm »
Sounds like a good idea to me. I would like to see and hear more also.

Offline Easternarcher

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 01:04:51 am »
I'll 'third' that request. Maybe strung and unstrung profiles side by side?

Offline lowell

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 10:02:34 am »
Here is a bow that was discussed on this site earlier this year. I was having trouble getting it right and everyone was a big help. It shows the problems and what was done to help get rid of them.

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,2472.0.html
My son says I shoot a stick with a stick!!

DCM

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 10:05:57 am »
http://home.comcast.net/~dcm4/abc0601.JPG

http://home.comcast.net/~dcm4/abc0602.JPG

http://home.comcast.net/~dcm4/abc0704.JPG

http://home.comcast.net/~dcm4/abc0705.JPG

The first two links show a bow with more circular tiller.  The second two a little more stiff on the outer limbs.  One bowyer buddy of mine doesn't see any difference in the two, but likes the way the first one shoots better.  I prefer the second but the difference is not pronounced.  Don't have an example of a whip tillered bow.

IMO circular tiller lets one use more wood, potentially saving a little set or perhaps make a little more draw weight for what wood is available.  Less circular preserves string angle, and helps keep mass in motion to a minimum.

Pics not for BOM consideration please.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.