Author Topic: need ideas for a new bow ( pics added)  (Read 3277 times)

Offline jturner

need ideas for a new bow ( pics added)
« on: March 06, 2012, 01:35:41 am »
i want to make an osage static recurve, its my first try. Ive been searching on here and im thinking 60 to 62 inches 1 1/2" at fades taper to 1 inch 8 to 10 inches from tips down to 3/4" tips, 4 inch handle 1 1/2" fades. how wide do I leave the tips when bending? how far from the tips do I want my bend? if I can figure out how to put pics on here I post pics as I go. let me know if these measurements sound good or what I need to change.  stave is 80 inches by 3 inches wide, very clear and straight from pearl drums
« Last Edit: March 06, 2012, 02:43:29 am by jturner »
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: need ideas for a new bow
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2012, 02:29:01 am »
Your overall measurements sound good. If you are drawing 26" I'd say go with 60" to 62", if 28" draw, 62" to 64". Keep your tips 3/4" wide for bending and until you get to first low brace. At that time you can tell how the string is tracking and narrow the tips, one side or the other to get the string to line up if necessary. Later, reduce the tip width to 3/8".
  Here is a similar bow to what you want. 60"t/t, 1 3/8" at the fades and out until the last 8" or so then tapering to 3/8" tips. The limbs bend to the handle. Handle is 4" and the fades are1 1/2". I can feel it give at full draw. She pulls 56#@26"(on my scale) The actual recurve is about 6" long.

Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline jturner

Re: need ideas for a new bow
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2012, 02:33:15 am »
Thanks pat, I draw 28, and like a stiff handle. Ive made some short osage bows but never a recurve. how thick should my tips be when I steam them? i plan on chasing a ring on the belly before bending
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->