Author Topic: Couple New Guy Questions....  (Read 1658 times)

Offline gudspelr

Couple New Guy Questions....
« on: April 10, 2012, 12:16:18 am »
I'm new to this site, but REALLY enjoying all of the great information.  I'm hoping you experienced folks can help me with a few questions.  I have a fair stash of obsidian which brings me to my first question.  I heard someone mention obsidian was too brittle to hunt with (in their opinion) and they only use chert/flint for hunting purposes.  Is this the case?  While I'm certain obsidian can and does kill critters, are other materials generally stronger, potentially lasting longer or not breaking where as an obsidian point might?

Second question has to do with safety.  I'm new to knapping (still have to get the tools together) and have heard it can be hazardous to one's health if the tiny particles are inhaled-true?  I've seen in some videos that knapping tends to be done outdoors, which I assume could also make the pile of debris just easier to clean up (or not).  I live in a subdivision and my back yard doesn't exactly lend itself to a pile of glass bits laying around.  Would I be fine spreading a tarp or something on the floor of my garage?  From other posts I've found, looks like some use fans to move the air and keep the dust away?  I also have young kids and want to be aware of any safety tips...

Sorry for the dumb basic questions, I appreciate any thoughts you might have.

Jeremy
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 12:31:15 am by gudspelr »

Offline Calendargirl

• Administrator
Re: Couple New Guy Questions....
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 12:18:35 am »
There is no such thing as a dumb question around here!  Also we are starting a new column in our magazine where Patrick known as Jackcrafty on the boards will answer any question emailed or messaged to him.  His email is jackcrafty@yahoo.com.

He would love to put your questions in our magazine for other readers to learn from them!  Glad you posted!
~cg