Author Topic: My bow project  (Read 3304 times)

Offline poppamies907

My bow project
« on: August 04, 2012, 06:02:24 pm »
Good evening bowyers!

My name is Jake, i'm Finnish senior high school student and got bitten by a bow bug. So im starting to build my first bow, and im thinking to laminate a about 45#@28" recurve bow.

Yes, i know what you are thinking, "laminating is not good for first one", and thats what i was first concerned about. Then i understood the fact that i think i have the reguired skills and tools to make one. I have been making knifes for 5-6 years now, and i have an access to a furnituremakers workshop, so i have all the tools i need.

So, i have been looking from the web for quite while now, and i have few questions, i think they will be stupid and basic, but i still need to ask.

What wood should i use? i have heard that ashwood, cherrywood, maple etc. are good for bowmaking, am i right?

Should i laminate a carbonfiber core to it?

How thick the laminates should be?

How long the bow should be? I'm only 162cm long (yeah, i look like a midget)

How many "laminates" should i use?

Here's few questions, i might ask more later, Thank you!

Offline tom sawyer

Re: My bow project
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 07:10:39 pm »
What wood should i use? i have heard that ashwood, cherrywood, maple etc. are good for bowmaking, am i right?
Yes those are all OK, cherry is kind of brittle.  Elm is also good if you can get that.

Should i laminate a carbonfiber core to it?
No.  Of course you're asking someone on a primitive archery site!

How thick the laminates should be?
Backing, 2-3mm.  Center and belly lams can be 5mm or more.  In fact you can use a single piece of wood for the belly.

How long the bow should be? I'm only 162cm long (yeah, i look like a midget)
Make the bow as tall as you are, and make enough working limb on each limb to equal your draw length.

How many "laminates" should i use?