Author Topic: newbie hickory bow  (Read 6283 times)

Offline tahirsdt

newbie hickory bow
« on: November 16, 2012, 02:42:09 am »
Hi guys, I'm a newbie to making bows, need some advice on making my first bow.
I have a hickory board that is 2" wide (iv been told that should be a good width for a hickory bow) and 2.4m long. Firstly I'd like to know should I use a pyramid style layout or should I usea layout where it starts to taper after mid limb? And is my 2" width suitable? What length should I go for?was thinking around 1.7m. Keeping in mind that I would prefer something easy to make and shoot as this is my first bow.thanks

Offline RyanY

Re: newbie hickory bow
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 04:19:09 am »
Well the first thing you need to do is figure out what draw weight and draw length you want it and also if you want a bow with a stiff handle or one that flexes throughout its length.

Offline tahirsdt

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 06:25:12 am »
Well the most I can draw is around 26" and because I'm new to archery I'm not sure what weight I can shoot to because I've shot lighter bows so far but because I'm average height and build I would guess I could do 50# maybe? As for the handle I'm not sure, that's what I plan to ask here, what would be easier to build and shoot as a first bow? Thanks for the help btw!

Offline steve b.

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2012, 07:08:15 am »