Author Topic: A beginner's warbow: Where to start?  (Read 7014 times)

Offline Shiloh

A beginner's warbow: Where to start?
« on: September 18, 2012, 01:21:47 am »
Hey everyone, I'm still a newbie to the boards but I couldn't wait to dive into the warbow/ELB section of the forums. A little run-down on myself: I've been fascinated with the english longbow/warbow for almost a year now after reading Bernard Cornwell's "Grail quest" series, along with his other work "Agincourt". Being a history buff of everything from World War 2 to the Roman army, I fell in love with the idea of the English Longbowman.

So when I started making bows a couple of years back, immediatly I had the desire to make a true english longbow. But the problem I always encountered was a lack of quality bow-wood. I live in the suburbs, with all the immediate forest in my area being federally protected wetland. So far I've been stuck with red oak boards and the occasional maple stave from the lumberyard. But now I really want to take it up a notch.

I know that pacific yew grows in my part of the state, but unfortunately (right now, at least) I'm not in a position where I can put the time, money, and effort into drying and working a full-sized yew stave. So after doing some research I stumbled onto the laminated bow. It seemed like the most economical idea  for my situation, so I decided to give it a shot. But before I go any further, there's a number of questions I was hoping to get answered.

1. I don't have any experience with heavy-weight bows, the most I've ever drawn being a 70# compound (Just once, mind you. I didn't sacrifice ALL my primitive roots :laugh: ) Mostly I shoot bows in the 40# to 55# range. Would starting with a bow that draws 60# @ 28" and around 70# @ 32" be a reasonable start?