Author Topic: tinder bundle  (Read 7049 times)

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
tinder bundle
« on: September 21, 2007, 07:53:50 pm »
This is probably somthing that the experienced fire starters already are very proficient at but as a beginner I was having quite a bit of trouble getting my tinder ignited.  After some research and quite a bit of trial and error I started using this combo that works pretty consistantly.  I take a piece of birchbark about 6" by 6" flat. Pile on a handfull of dead grass then criss cross a bunch of really fine and thin pieces of birch bark.  Then in the center a nice patch of dry rotted and super fine wood. I place the coal on the rotted wood and fold the big piece of bark like a taco and blow through it.  Also I take a piece of really fine birch bark with the other hand and place it in the hottest spot of the nearly ignited bundle.  Hopefully this can help some beginners out.  Anybody else willing to share thier favorite bunde material?
Traverse City, MI

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: tinder bundle
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 08:53:48 pm »
I pull some bark off a juniper tree, rough it up to break it into finer fibers.  then I form a bowl shape with it.  Sometimes I put a little in between my palms and rub my hands together to get it super fine, and drop that in the bowl.  Then just drop a coal in on top of it and close the bowl a little.
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline Kegan

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 09:52:05 pm »
Rotted wood seems more for carrying coals than lighting them. Try putting just the grass around the coal, or some "fluff", the wind catching hairs on seeds of such plants as thistle and cattail. Helps if you put it all together (hairs, grass, and inner bark) in a nice big bundle with twigs on the outside.

jamie

« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 09:59:58 pm »