Author Topic: Finally got proper arrows for the Warbow aka XL ELB, time to hunt boar, LOL!!  (Read 4525 times)

Offline nineworlds9

• Toxophile
So I've been shooting my warbow for a couple months now.  I love all kinds of longbows, native american, ELB, Hill style, whatever.  I am unlike others who enjoy the heavy longbows- while I appreciate heritage and am a history buff, I have almost no interest really in flight or clout.  Being a big man, to me it's just a giant ELB and I love the size, power, and fun of pulling it back behind my ear.  I want to poach the King's deer, and have decided to embrace the challenge of taking a 76" 90# bow out in the woods hunting.  Not in a tree, but on the ground, either hidden or on the stalk.  Sure, I could stick to either my 58 or 64# ELB, but why not do something wacky and go for the full 90?, LOL.  Really the quarry most suited to this size bow is the King's boar aka feral hog.  Anyway, I acquired the bow without having the proper arrows for it.  The bow is tillered to 33" and up to now I was only able to practice pulling and holding it past my ear with out a long arrow, and for shooting purposes was limited to some 30" carbon arrows I had lying around for my non-primitive bows, which only allowed about a 75-80# shot pulled to my face.  Let me say the carbons were just NOT heavy enough for the bow, not to mention shooting them out of this lovely ELB is just wrong.  Such a huge stick needs some HEAVY arrows in order to transfer its energy efficiently.  Even weighted with a heavy field point and a piece of plastic coated wire inside the carbons just weren't cutting it, barely hitting 650g total weight.  This bow needs something more in the realm of 800+ grains to function and get decent cast, not to mention being tillered to 33" it really needs to be pulled all the way back to do what it was meant to do.  This meant I had to have wood shafts for sure.  SO...enter in my buddy JohnFletch over on Tradgang, he does some arrow making