Author Topic: Hello...  (Read 2050 times)

Offline Lyagooshka

Hello...
« on: February 13, 2013, 12:49:08 pm »
Hello all.  I am very new to just about everything here.  I will be hitting the magic 4-0 soon, and I realized that time runs in only one direction, so I will not put off things that have interested me forever any longer.  I have already started on a selfbow (another post), but I also want to make stone/glass points (and actually use them).  So, here are my initial questions:

Does anyone know of any organizations / groups in South Eastern PA (Lehigh Valley / Allentown)?

Are the “triangle” shapes of arrowheads a “standard”?  I ask this because of a post on another site.  A point (pun intended) was made, and I pretty much agree, that the shape of such arrow heads lead them to be “barbed”, which is illegal in some states, but also has some ethical ramifications to consider.  In an “off” shot, the arrow could not easily (pull out) of an animal and let the animal heal.  Would a “diamond” or “spade” shape with a tang be possible / practical?

Any other info for a newbie is much appreciated.

I am sure I will have plenty of others.  I have been trolling the forum, and am AMAZED at the quality of work.  LOVE the pictures.  With my ADD (sitting still while hunting is all but impossible for me  :-\ ) I think going between the selfbow and points will be a good exercise for me.  Thanks for your time.  Be well.

Alex

:P
"I have known many meat eaters to be far more nonviolent than vegetarians." - Mahatma Gandhi

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: Hello...
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 12:53:13 pm »
No, arrowheads can be any shape you want.  Also staring on some kind of material like tile, glass, toilet tank, ect. will help improve your skills for cheap. You can buy real flint if you want, but i find it hard to spall without having 10lbs of rubble and 10grams of arrowheads.
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline Outbackbob48