Author Topic: straightening green stave  (Read 1825 times)

Offline Bloodhound

straightening green stave
« on: May 29, 2013, 12:00:40 am »
I cut a maple at my cabin in NW WI this weekend and once split it produced 4 nice staves all with a fair amount of twist. I roughed out 2 of them today and decided to try straightening them before they are dry. The idea is to clamp them to a 2x4 with some home made clamps from 2x2s and bolts (5 per stave) and leave the clamped for a year until dry.
I am new to using staves and the ones I cut last summer have been a pain to straighten after drying so I thought this might work well.
Anyone else do this and have any thoughts or insight?

Offline Newindian

Re: straightening green stave
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2013, 01:24:49 am »
Steam may be easier
I like free stuff.

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2013, 07:18:38 am »
As newindian said.Should be able to steam it in a month and clamp to a caul/ form for desired reflex and straightness. If it is twisted already due to poor growth form, you might be spinning your wheels. What kind of maple? Good luck!

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2013, 07:49:52 am »
CrookedArrow had a post about reflexing and straightening green staves a while back.  I think he had them across two saw horses with weights hanging from the center.  I've never tried it. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Bloodhound

« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2013, 09:38:31 am »
I think its a sugar maple. The twist is not horrible and may be partly due to the way I split the log, I used an axe head as a wedge starting at the top and hammering it through till a full split. I got 4 beautiful staves except for the twist, when laying on a flat 2x4 when 1 tip is level on the board the other tip is rotated about 30-45 degrees.