Author Topic: New to the forum  (Read 1440 times)

Offline Majuba Tom

New to the forum
« on: September 06, 2013, 04:12:01 am »
I am new the forum and wanted to say hello to everyone.

I am fairly new to knapping. I started in October of 2012 and I am hooked. ;D
I am from Dayton Nevada and have been learning on the stone I have been collecting locally. I started with agate since I knew where plenty of that was to learn on. Around 30 points later I discovered there was small chert nodules in the same area I was collecting the agate. :o Things started to get a little easier after that.

I do want to say thank you to Patrick for all of his videos on his Allergic Hobbit site. They are a tremendous help.

Now for a few pictures. 1st one is one of the small nodules of chert. I have no idea what type of chert it is it just works.

The 2nd picture is some of the spalls I get.

The 3rd is some of the points I made in the last week. All raw stone.

I  hope that worked.

Majuba Tom

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: New to the forum
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 07:07:47 am »
Looks like your getting the most out of the stone your finding. That's some fine looking points there! Keep em coming.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 07:22:49 am »
Welcome to the site! Looks like you're doing pretty darn good for only knapping for a year. Keep them coming.

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline YosemiteBen

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 12:28:39 pm »
Welcome to the site! Looks like you're doing pretty darn good for only knapping for a year. Keep them coming.

Tracy

what Tracy said...

Offline Trapper Rob

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2013, 09:38:14 pm »
Looks good like the looks of the stone do you know what kind it is.

Offline Majuba Tom

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2013, 01:21:16 am »
Thanks for the encouragement.