Author Topic: New poster, is my impulse purchase any good?  (Read 8527 times)

Offline horsetime

Re: New poster, is my impulse purchase any good?
« Reply #30 on: October 07, 2013, 01:56:23 pm »
Nope, never posted on reddit. 

Offline StickMan47

« Reply #31 on: October 07, 2013, 05:43:15 pm »
First of all I gotta say hats off to PD/War for yall's generosity. That's one of the things I like about PA.

Horsetime, you did right by not buying a bow of the bay. I am new to this bowmaking addiction and my wife got the bug for a selfbow. Since I am new and broke my first attempt I bought the $45 eBay special for her to shoot with until I get enough experience making them "safely" myself. Needless to say the bow had lots of hand shock! I had to put a cork handle on it to offset some of the shock.

If I had it to do all over I would have spent my money on a good stave! Anyway, looks like these guys saved you from another bad experience. Oh, btw, welcome to PA.
Makin fine firewood, one bow at a time!

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2013, 06:41:37 pm »
Welcome fellow hoosier.  You will be happy with what you get from Pearly and Warpath, and it will be usable.  I have a bow from Pearly and one of Warpaths arrows.  Both are top notch. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
« Reply #33 on: October 07, 2013, 07:25:07 pm »
Before I was even interested in bowyery I bought an ebay bow for eighty dollars and didn't know enough to tell it was hinging in both limbs. Shot it twenty times and it blew up in my face. The things money gobblers will disgrace online :(
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #34 on: October 07, 2013, 10:13:44 pm »