Author Topic: Use Set to Advantage  (Read 3878 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Use Set to Advantage
« on: December 14, 2007, 12:48:00 pm »
It seems to me that R/D bows are actually bows that have an induced set, ie., the Deflex, with subsequent reflex added during the glueup/clamp process.  
Why can't one take bows with, say, 2" set and heatgun in the reflex later, thus making a fine R/D bow? ???
« Last Edit: December 14, 2007, 12:51:39 pm by OldBow »
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Use Set to Advantage
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2007, 01:16:28 pm »
Don, If the deflex is stress induced, the belly cells have been damaged and by adding reflex you add more stress. I have never heat treated a belly but that might help it to hold the reflex.   Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2007, 01:17:12 pm »
Don the first time I saw a R/D I didn't know what it was and I thought man that bow has a lot of set
and they tried fixin it. Would be a good experiment wouldn't it, maybe badger will see this and I bet Marc
could shed some light.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline PatM

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2007, 01:28:27 pm »
 Most true Deflex/Reflex bows have the deflex put in the handle, not the actual working limb. So set is not actually the reason for the appearance of the bow.

Adam Keiper

« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2007, 02:11:51 pm »