Author Topic: By the book  (Read 2234 times)

Offline Archeress

By the book
« on: January 02, 2014, 08:38:58 pm »
Hi all....ok please humour me here..I make my own arrows. I am by no means an expert and tend to ignore the highly detailed facts and figures regarding a true flying arrow.  But..is there a standard table/guide that will tell you what length fletch is appropriate for certain length arrow/spine/grain of point etc..the whole mix and match scenario ?...

Arrows i make for myself for my 70 # elm are as follows. 

shaft = douglas fir...32 inches shaft...65 pound spine
brass field point.....125 grain
5 inch shield cut tru flights

Bear in mind i only draw about 50 # of the bow out of habit and style. This leaves a hell of a lot of arrow remaining to draw.

My arrows fly damn straight, no fish tailing or instability.  i like my arrows.

I would like to speed up my arrows.. i am thinking of using the same arrow shafts for the same bow..but put 3 or 4 inch tru flights on..and cutting shaft back to say 29 or 30...i am aware that cutting a shaft stiffens the spine.  point is... will it still fly true?.  .i havent experimented much as you can see. 

And now for something completely anal..main reason for speeding up my arrows other than lowering my arc for a 40 metre shot is that an arrow drawn to its full length looks awesome in photos.   

cheers and beers...kel

WHAT SAY YOU ? 
Archeress is a long way from home

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: By the book
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 08:54:50 pm »
Have you thought of tapering either the whole shaft or the last 10". That will reduce the physical weight and in the case of the rear 10" it will only reduce the spine weight a pound or two. Both styles have weight forward characteristics too.