Author Topic: Yew knot advice wanted  (Read 2637 times)

Offline Matt Heppe

• Eternal Knight
Yew knot advice wanted
« on: May 04, 2014, 01:54:13 pm »
Hello All,

I am working on a curvy yew bow. I've never worked with yew before. The stave is 59" long and I am going for a 28" draw. This yew comes from an ornamental yew. It has a few tiny pin knots, and one larger knot I'd like advice on.

The bow has a couple of inches of natural reflex. I was hoping not to back it, as it is a very pretty piece of wood.

Here is the knot. There is a little bit of the last growth ring still to take off (as you can see). The knot is about 1/4 inch long and is located 7" from the tip. The limb is 1 1/8 inches wide at this point. How should I best deal with this knot?

Eternal Knight: where I write about writing, do book reviews, and display my novice bows.

Offline Blaflair2

Re: Yew knot advice wanted
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 02:09:49 pm »
If it's yew, normally u don't chase a ring. U lieave a 1/4" of sapwood. I'd clean it up with my scraper and rawhide back it. The heartwood is weak in tension
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Matt Heppe

• Eternal Knight
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 02:21:19 pm »
A draw knife slip cut through the sapwood when I was taking the bark off, so I scraped down to the layer you see.

Having never worked with yew, I wasn't certain what was sapwood and what was heartwood. You can see the remnants of the very pale wood I removed. It was a very thin layer. I thought it might even be cambium. They back of the bow is still very light wood compared to the deep, dark wood on the belly.
Eternal Knight: where I write about writing, do book reviews, and display my novice bows.

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 02:37:59 pm »