Author Topic: Osage design ideas  (Read 2727 times)

Offline Ross.m.

Osage design ideas
« on: July 19, 2014, 02:32:12 pm »
      I just ordered an Osage stave, and it is my first time working with Osage also. The dimensions are  :Length 71.5in X 3in  X 3in , 8 lbs. based on its current weight at those dimensions, how much would it need to be dried?
      I also need to find a design for a bow at that length. I read in an earlier post that flatbows work well on Osage at long lengths. So far I've only made a 54 inch maple bow so a much longer stave of different wood should teach me a lot. If any of you have suggestions for design ideas, I would be happy to hear them!

Offline Badger

Re: Osage design ideas
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2014, 02:40:05 pm »
  For a 28" draw I like osage between about 64" and 68", I kind of consider 66" to be my standard anymore.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2014, 02:48:24 pm »
Knowing when it was cut would help but, were it me, I would dry it until it's no longer losing any weight.  No idea how much weight it will lose.  Then, Stiff handle 64-68 inches long.  4 or 5 inch handle with 2 inch fades.  1 1/2 - 1 3/8 inches wide to mid limb and then taper to 3/8 inch at the tips.  Flip the last 5-6 inches.  50lbs.  27inches.  Good clean stave, that get's me there.  You can go a little shorter, a little more narrow add more reflex, but that is a good starting point I think.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.

Offline Ross.m.

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2014, 03:01:44 pm »
It was cut last thanksgiving day

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2014, 03:19:06 pm »