Author Topic: Trying to tan some hides  (Read 6334 times)

Offline osage outlaw

Trying to tan some hides
« on: March 10, 2015, 08:53:09 pm »
I have a few hides in the freezer and decided it was time to figure out how to tan them.  I started with a fawn hide and two chipmunks.  I was going to take them to the Moontree get together and work on them with the guys down there but I thought it would be better to keep the mess at home.  These hides were given to me by a couple of coworkers.  Today I scraped them as clean as I could get them.  I covered them in salt and worked it into the skin.  I folded them in half and then rolled them up.  I'm following the directions on the tanning formula that I bought.  I hope they turn out good.  I still have the deer hide from my first primitive kill in the freezer and I want to tan it.

I'm totally new to hide tanning so if you see that I'm doing something wrong or have any tips please let me know. 

I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline soy

• pm106221
Re: Trying to tan some hides
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 09:03:29 pm »
Boy double o u got them nice and clean ;)
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 09:21:22 pm »
It was a lot of scraping.  I think I got the membrane off.  At least I hope I did.  I don't want to scrape any more.  And there was about 500 burrs in the deer hide that I picked out.

Offline tipi stuff

• Curtis Carter
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 09:41:43 pm »