Author Topic: Skinnybow build/follow along  (Read 4917 times)

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
Skinnybow build/follow along
« on: March 18, 2015, 04:05:28 pm »
Finally got around to this build I've been promising reddit for a few months, just finished the first album: chasing a ring.

VERY pic heavy.

Here we see the locust stave in its completely unnatural state and surroundings, its powerful dark heartwood oppressed by the decaying lighter sapwood. Surely as a moral being I must do something to free this noble beast.

Its character unrestrained, the beast longs to bend clean and true. Surely if the near right and far left edges became nocks a string would fall across the center of the handle and this creature could be pulled into the purest of arches.

Enough of that

This stave is deep enough for any of the outer six rings to yield one of my skinnybows/planes styles. I choose the outermost ring I'm confident with to give myself mistake room, allowing me to chase another ring if I dig into this one.

I always aim to cut through the lighter colored, softer, crunchier earlywood and skim over the harder latewood. I make quick motions with my dull drawknife, thinking of it as a stone cutting the air and skipping across the water. I try to never cut latewood, rather I lift the outer rings away but cutting the weaker earlywood.

I pull straight into the earlywood I'm chasing through and give my drawknife a twist.

The locust willingly begins lifting. I follow this tear as far as I can, cutting as little material as possible.

I do the same on the second half of this end and am fortunate enough to have this end almost finished within fifteen seconds of starting this stave.

I don't just pull through everything. I take the drawknife as far down the split/tear as I can without cutting and give it a twist.

This causes the split to travel farther down the stave, letting my lift as opposed to cut through most of the process.