Author Topic: Can I Knap this?  (Read 2676 times)

Offline ColtSmith

Can I Knap this?
« on: April 07, 2015, 09:23:41 pm »
I am new to flint knapping and was wondering if this rock I found in missouri is good for knapping. I can get tons of this stuff and also can some one lead me to a video on how to bust this thing open? (Im not sure if the picture will work sorry)

Offline Trapper Rob

Re: Can I Knap this?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 09:25:40 pm »
Should knapp might need to heat treat it.

Offline Zuma

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 09:31:59 pm »
From my time searching for rock in MO,
I would think any rock there is knappable.
Zuma
If you are a good detective the past is at your feet. The future belongs to Faith.

Offline ColtSmith

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2015, 09:38:44 pm »
Thank you  :)

Offline TRACY

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2015, 09:39:39 pm »
Should knapp might need to heat treat it.

Plus 1
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline nclonghunter

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2015, 11:47:05 pm »
Just get a harder rock and whack it on the edges to see what's inside...would like to see it again when the inners are exposed.
There are no bad knappers, only bad flakes

Offline Patches

« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2015, 08:08:48 am »
Colt,  what part of Missouri you from?  I am in Warrensburg, SE of KC. 

That looks like some rock I have picked up in down around Springfield.  If it comes out of the ground below the freeze line it works pretty well.  The stuff laying on top of the ground has a lot of freeze cracks in it and crumbled when I hit it.  I have not tried to heat treat any yet. 

Neal 
"You are never a complete failure as long as you can be used as a bad example..."

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2015, 08:45:54 am »
I'd bust it up and see what's in there, looks fractured. Like patches said, might wanna dig deeper to get to the more solid stuff.