Author Topic: tips from making a bow from a stave.  (Read 2903 times)

Offline david w.

tips from making a bow from a stave.
« on: February 05, 2008, 06:42:39 pm »
 Can someone give me some tips on working on a stave.  I have a beautiful character mullbery stave from Mullet.  I know to chase a ring but how should i work knots and a kink in the wood.  I dont think i will be able to steam it out so how should i tiller it.

How wide and long should i make it?
These pretzels are making me thirsty.

if it dont go fast...chrome it - El Destructo

Offline tom sawyer

Re: tips from making a bow from a stave.
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2008, 07:39:32 pm »
Tip #1:  Never get a stave from Mullet.  Just because he's a glutton for punishment doesn't mean you have to be.

But having ignored that tip, I'd do my best to chase a ring on that stave, I would be careful around knots because the grain tends to raise up some.  I wouldn't leave extra rings on the knot though.  I have limited experience with mulberry, but its a fairly light wood so I'd make the bow fairly long and reasonably wide.  Maybe 68" and 1.75" wide to midlimb then taper to 1/2" nocks.  I'm assuming you have around 28" draw and want 50lb out of a stiff-handled bow.  Don't go wide farther than midlimb, it reduces performance and makes the bow that much harder to tiller.  4" handle and 2" fades, get the limbs bending to within an inch of the fades.  When there is a dip in the wood make a dip on the belly so the thickness of the limb remains constant, that'll give you equal bending and avoids places that are over-stressed.

More people will be along to advise you better, just thought I'd get the ball rolling.
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline Ryano

• Ryan O'Sullivan, North Western Pennsylvania
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2008, 07:43:19 pm »
pictures of what your working with would help...... ;)
Its November, I'm gone hunt'in.......
Osage is still better.....

Offline tom sawyer