Author Topic: Filling a slot  (Read 4020 times)

Offline DC

Re: Filling a slot
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2015, 01:12:44 am »
You showed me one before that you filled in.   I have dried numerous saplings the old fashioned way never had any splitting.  ???
What can I say? If I don't kerf the handle they split. Some worse than others. I'm constantly trying different methods of drying this stuff(OS) and it's getting better but this method works well except for having to fill the slot.

Offline bubbles

• PM110769
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2015, 01:30:02 am »
I did a few veneers on a bow I did  recently. It was the back of a lam  bow though.   I'm no expert, but I would recommend a non water based glue (epoxy)to keep the veneer from curling. I then used butchers twine to wrap the veneer to keep it down.  Wrap maybe every eighth  inch.   

Offline DC

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2015, 01:36:30 am »
I had it in mind to soak the veneer to try and make it follow the undulations(nice word eh) of a self bow. Maybe not a good idea? The only veneer work I've done was the dashboard of a '68 Spitfire.

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2015, 10:05:20 am »
I would have cut the handle flat and glued on a new one starting with a couple of 1/8" strips, with good glue and feathering into the fades these never pop off.

I like your fix though, you gotta' do what you gotta' do to save a potential bow.

Here is my most radical handle save, great osage but a swirl in the split eliminated about of a third of what would be the handle. I made a BBO out of the stave to help hold the added wood together. The fix was about 10 years ago and the bow is still shooting as far as I know.

The bow was found in an archery shop in Chattanooga a few years back, a guy sent me a picture when he saw my name on it,

« Last Edit: July 02, 2015, 10:12:37 am by Eric Krewson »

Offline Aries

« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2015, 10:10:25 am »