Author Topic: Tight bark  (Read 1871 times)

Offline Loope

Tight bark
« on: August 02, 2015, 09:57:44 pm »
I cut a 7 inch hickory in my yard today that I have been eyeing for a while.  I have never done anything with inner bark, and I was hoping the bark would slip off easily so I could give it a try.  No luck.  The bark was stuck like crazy.  I couldn't get even small pieces to peel off.  Tried taking it whole (inner and outer bark together), tried cutting narrow strips and peeling, and also tried shaving the outer bark with a drawknife first to get to the inner.  Nothing worked.  So I just made bark shavings.  Oh well, no bark strips this time.

Is it too late in the year for bark to slip?  It has been hot and dry here for a while (East TN), maybe that affected it?

Offline Zuma

Re: Tight bark
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 10:58:05 pm »
I'm no expert, but I think spring is the time when the sap
runs the best and the bark should slip the easiest.??
Zuma
If you are a good detective the past is at your feet. The future belongs to Faith.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 12:59:25 am »
The bark should slip any time during the growing season. It might need a little encouragement but it should slip.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2015, 08:40:18 am »
In bowmaking many said "rules" may not apply ...ive seen it many a time where bark wouldnt slip off during the summer....even saw it this past weekend where some wouldnt peel off by hand and others from trees not to far away from each other wood peel off easily(all were the same species of tree...elm).. I think it might have something to do with how much water and nutrients is available to the tree...the ones that didnt slip had much smaller rings. Which indicates its not a well fed tree. Just an educated guess tho?

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2015, 09:14:25 am »