Author Topic: norway spruce board bow  (Read 5309 times)

Offline joachimM

• Good - better - broken
norway spruce board bow
« on: March 07, 2016, 04:43:57 pm »
I've never built a board bow before, because where I live is board desert and I have plenty of access to normal bow wood. About the only boards you can find around here are either fir (norway spruce), douglas fir (mostly only large beams) or meranti. But you can find straight ringed fir. So I stumbled upon an plank of 4.4 cm x 1.2 cm x 2.1 m and thought what the heck, let's just try this out.
Norway spruce is about the stiffest wood (and least elastic) for its mass (SG only 0.32!), only bested by sitka spruce and W Hemlock (which are a tiny bit denser). Not what you'd call ideal bow wood. 

Shortened it to 66", glued a 7" handle + fades section (a slat of the same plank), and cut it into a pyramid shape (4.4 cm at fades to 1 cm nocks), gently heat treated the belly and voila! Level thickness of 1.2 cm throughout the limbs, automatically tillered.
Draws smoothly to 28" at 35#, has 3/4" of set after shooting and since it has virtually no mass (335 grams) it shoots without any hand shock and very true to the target. Speed isn't terrific, about 145 fps from a 370 gr arrow, but it's a sweet shooter for sure.
The pics here just show the rough bow, just testing if these boards could make an OK bow. Seems they do.

Offline willie

Re: norway spruce board bow
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 06:12:22 pm »
nice experiment

to what do you attribute the moderate arrow speed?

the top pic has a pinkish coloration that is more common with doug fir than spruce, here in the us, Is norway spruce reddish?

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 07:29:35 pm »
Did you add any reflex when you heat treated?
Steve Bennett

Offline aaron

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2016, 08:32:07 pm »
" Speed isn't terrific, about 145 fps from a 370 gr arrow"