Author Topic: Do we have to stretch our strings?  (Read 8540 times)

Offline ajbruggink

• Aaron Bruggink, Oostburg, WI, USA
Do we have to stretch our strings?
« on: January 17, 2016, 02:10:01 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm still a newbie but I've been making endless strings for my bows for almost 2 years now after learning how from TBB vol. 2 but I've never stretched a B-55 Polyester (basically the same thing as B-50 Dacron) string after making one, I just put it on the bow and shot it. Is this wrong? Should I be stretching my strings to some percentage of their breaking strength before use? I heard about it first when I read up on how to make a bowstring out of silk, this particular source recommended stretching it to 90% of its breaking strength. I don't notice the brace height on my bows changing over time. The only attempt I ever made at stretching a string was when I tried to make a string out of Fastflight for one of my bows. I made it 68" long for a 72" long bow and it still gave my bow a brace height of 8 1/2". So I tried stretching it by hanging it from a hook on the rafter of my basement ceiling and zip-tying weight-lifting weights to the other loop. After a week of trial, the most I could get it to stretch was 3/4". If 90% of the strength of that Fastflight string was needed, I didn't have enough weights for it anyway because I used 8 strands, giving it a breaking strength of 400 lbs, this is taken from a belief that a strand of Fastflight has a breaking strength of 50 lbs, I say belief because I have never tested the breaking strength of a strand of Fastflight, only linen. If I should be stretching strings, how do you do it? Any info, advice, critiques, etc are greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Aaron

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: Do we have to stretch our strings?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 02:14:34 pm »
If it's going to stretch, it will stretch, you can then adjust it (by twisting it up or re-tieing the knot.)