Author Topic: Tillering horn bow?  (Read 7986 times)

Offline lauderw55

Tillering horn bow?
« on: January 31, 2016, 09:28:15 pm »
Hi I am new to horn bows and was interested in making my first one but have a few questions. I have made self bows and wooden bows and know how to tiller those but not real sure how to tiller horn bows. Everywhere I look (Internet/traditional bowyers bible) it says it is done by heat and pressure and not by removing the horn on the belly. So I guess my question is is there a more detailed description on how to tiller the horn now? Or there any videos on the Internet that show this process? Any info would be appreciated thanks!

Offline loon

Re: Tillering horn bow?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 10:51:10 pm »
From what I've read online: sometimes you do have to scrape horn in the belly to help tiller it, or to balance it. An even tiller isn't as necessary with horn bows because it can take a lot more stress than wood.

Offline ChristopherHwll

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2016, 08:36:05 am »