Author Topic: Speed... Curiosity only  (Read 12143 times)

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Speed... Curiosity only
« Reply #45 on: April 02, 2016, 07:18:13 pm »
its nice when the practical experience and the science of it validate each other,,its nice to know the whys,,,I am not good at the math, and it really helps how clearly you guys explain it,,,and hope the discussion helps others with their hunting set ups,, the speed is just a small part of it,,Tim Baker said " Let the measured speed of your arrow weigh the merits of your conjecturing.The arrow ,by the speed it chooses to fly,displays wisdom beyond Solmon's."

Offline PlanB

• SRHacksaw
« Reply #46 on: April 02, 2016, 10:01:36 pm »
I like that, BradSmith.
I love it when a plan B comes together....

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #47 on: April 03, 2016, 02:21:27 am »
I did a search of kinetic energy vs momentum and could't find a decent explanation of the difference in layman's terms. Then I found this which really addresses our issues and is funny!

A Thought Experiment:

Suppose that you were captured by an evil physicist who gave you the following choice:

You must either:

Stand in front of a 1000 kg truck moving at 1 m/s, or
Stand in front of a 1 kg meatball moving at 1000 m/s.
What's your choice?

Hopefully, you picked the truck! It's a big truck, but it is moving rather slowly (about walking speed), so assuming you don't fall down when it hits you (That would be bad...) the truck is just going to bump into you and move you out of the way.

On the other hand, you probably suspect intuitively that the meatball is a very dangerous object. It isn't that massive, but it is moving very fast (about 10 football fields per second) - and when it hits you it would do considerable damage to you, and keep going!

Consider the momentum and kinetic energy of the truck and the meatball:

Truck:

Truck's momentum = mv = (1000 kg)(1 m/s) = 1000 kg m/s