Author Topic: First wood in the stove  (Read 1788 times)

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
First wood in the stove
« on: November 19, 2016, 11:44:35 pm »
I've been burning wood for my primary heat source for over 35 years here.Never have I waited this long to burn my first stove load to heat the house.11/19/16.That's a record in my book.Crazy kind of year!!!!!!Makes me skeptical of what's to come to balance things out later this winter.Very dry here too like other parts of the country.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline osage outlaw

Re: First wood in the stove
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2016, 09:04:13 am »
It's been the same here Beadman.  I just put the chimney back up on my wood stove in the garage the other day.  I might start a fire in it today.  Thursday night we left the windows open during the night.  That never happens in mid November.  Friday was beautiful weather, sunny and mid 70's.  I was outside from daylight until dark at work and it felt great wearing a T shirt.  Saturday I was wearing 2 layers of clothes, and a hat and gloves.  It was freezing cold and spitting sleet off and on.  I don't know what to expect this winter.  It seems like winter is starting and ending later than it used to.  If it keeps this up we might have snow at the Classic instead of rain. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2016, 09:28:39 am »
I picked a ripe tomato a few days ago from a plant that came back to life with the warm fall, unheard of in the part of N Alabama I live in.

We did have temps down in the 20s this morning and some frost.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2016, 09:54:12 am »