Author Topic: Help with tiller please  (Read 1026 times)

Offline Onestupidsob

Help with tiller please
« on: March 05, 2017, 03:04:55 pm »
Hi All,

Started scratching away on this stick after the last one exploded. I was hoping for some more tiller  eyes on the tiller.  This one is the other half of the last one. They were from a big leaf maple or a Douglas maple (if they aren't the same thing, I'm still learning). This "stave' was one I cut about 3 or 4 years ago. After i roughed it out its lived in my 120° summer garage since then. Probably much drier than it should be but I thought the worst I can do is break it and get some practice. I've been interested in bowyery for a long time but have only recently been taking it more seriously. The design, if you can call it that, is 66" n to n, symmetrical, 1 1/2" at its widest, 1/2" tips, 1 1/2" fades (ha! Fades.). Honestly, I don't have much hope for this guy after seeing his counterpart self destruct but that's all right this is good practice and I'm having fun. Oh, and I heat bent that handle more in line than what you see.

Its pulling about 40 lbs at 25". I'm aiming for about 40 at 29" or 30" for a bit of overbuild. I realized that may not be possible but that's what I want. At this point I'm thinking I should weaken the whole r.ight limb to match the left. Maybe taking a bit more off the inside of the outer third of third of the right limb. I'm kinda liking how the left limb is bending right now.

Thanks for any input you guys might have. This site is amazing.

Stupid

Offline DC

Re: Help with tiller please
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 03:19:52 pm »