Author Topic: How can I know if the wood will work?  (Read 1812 times)

Offline Barend

How can I know if the wood will work?
« on: April 21, 2017, 02:07:02 am »
Hi everyone. I'm new to this primitive archery, and I have some questions. I live in an area where there isn't a wide variety of trees, and no one can help me identify the trees that we do have.

So how can I know whether or not the wood from a certain tree will make a good bow without having to chop it down or damage it too much? I have tried to do the necessary research, but it doesn't help if I don't know what trees it is.

And do you guys think that a weeping willow would make a good bow? I have read that english willow is used to make cricket bats, because of it's spring, and I was wonder if the weeping willow would have similar qualities.

Offline Lucasade

Re: How can I know if the wood will work?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 02:39:31 am »
I think someone said a year or so ago that willow makes lousy bows but good arrows?

Offline sleek

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2017, 03:05:59 am »
Oak is everywhere. Any oak will do. Any nut or fruit bearing tree will work. Willow, leave it be. Mayne a good backing wood, but not a belly, and certainly no good as a self bow. It helps to have an idea where you live.
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline Barend

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2017, 07:16:22 am »
Thank you for your advice. I will definitely forget about the willow. I can get to oak trees, but they are all huge and illegal to do much more than trimming. I live in South Africa

Limbit

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2017, 07:38:33 am »
South Africa evidently has loads of bow wood. Mulberry, hackberry, chinese elm, several types of acacia and plenty of fruit orchards you could look around at for apple or pear wood after they do some trimming. should be easy.

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows